The Beginning Of It All

I’m all moved in and boy what a change is residence from two years ago. I went from being in Ursuline Hall, an old, less air-conditioned residence with twin size beds and common bathrooms, to Clare Hall which is brand new, has an abundance of storage, queen size beds and offers semi-private washrooms. While the Ursuline Hall had character, I can’t say I don’t enjoy living in a more modern style room.IMG_6996 IMG_6989 IMG_6986 IMG_6988I left Oakville around 10:00 a.m. Monday morning and arrived in London just before noon the same day. Like Huron and Kings, Brescia is an affiliate college within the University of Western Ontario, the only difference being that it is all girls as opposed to co-ed. In the end I graduate with a Western Diploma but I chose to be part of the Food and Nutrition program, which is specialized and only offered at Brescia’s campus. The downside is that many of my science classes are on main campus, which is a bit of a hike since Brescia is at the top of a half-mile hill! The advantage is that Brescia’s classes are around 30 students in size as opposed to 500 like my lectures on Main campus!3 4

Despite barely lifting a finger since males from Huron and Kings helped Brescia Sophs (Upper year orientation leaders) move first year students like myself into their rooms, I was still extremely exhausted by the time I reached my room on fifth floor! The “movers” must have been exhausted by the end of the day because I wasn’t the only one who brought their entire wardrobe and a large selection of room décor. Thank goodness for the floor to ceiling built in storage cupboards! I am definitely going to need a step ladder since I can’t exactly reach all of the drawers and shelves.IMG_7004 IMG_7006With just my luck I am on the top floor, which is both good because I don’t hear noise from above and bad since the elevators haven’t been installed yet since there was a strike. I guess I won’t be gaining the freshmen fifteen since I’ll be climbing stairs and walking uphill everyday! The good news is my bathroom-mate shares a similar personality so we get along well.

10 9Some highlights of my time here in residence so far include Tie-Dying, Human Scavenger Hunt, Residence Mixer, Baking brownies and Brescia’s Opening ceremonies. I’ve learned many cheers and dances and I am working on remembering the names of many new faces. I also had the privilege of hearing a motivational speaker, Andy, who reinforced that University is what you make of it so don’t be afraid to answer questions, ask questions and most importantly volunteer. He agrees that University is 50% learning in class and 50% learning outside of class and you should never be afraid of putting yourself out there because equally passionate and academic students surround you.2 1

I ended yesterday evening by attending the opening Western Mustang Football game against Carleston. My phone died or else I would have taken more photos but I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the cowgirl ride around the track on a Mustang (Horse), watching the cheerleaders perform, screaming with every winning touchdown and dressing head to toe in purple.2 3I must say I am pretty tired but every event is too fun to pass up. I did skip out on “Yoga dance” which was glow in the dark because I am trying to get into the habit of going to sleep earlier. Despite the comfortable mattress, morning sweat sessions and receiving plenty of fresh air, all of which should tire me out, I’m having difficulty falling asleep. I guess all of the excitement is keeping me wired!IMG_6980 IMG_6983 IMG_7003IMG_6981

Can’t wait to share some of my cafeteria experiences in tomorrow’s post. I feel busy as a Brescia Bee so I am sorry in advance if my posts aren’t as frequently spaced as usual. ♥ Molly

11 thoughts on “The Beginning Of It All

  1. Girl your posts are going to change in frequency, don’t worry about that- school and friends and experiences have to come first because you won’t have this chance again! I loved the excitement of my first year, learning the cheers and the traditions of the college! Good for you for doing every opportunity! That is how you make friends that last a lifetime! Have fun girl! And keep having that fun even when classes start!

  2. Glad you’re all settled in my dear! Boy is your res nicer than mine! I lived in Molson at McGill which is also at the top of a giant hill…was interesting getting down in the winter. My suggestion, don’t wear uggs! Enjoy every minute of school. It’s over far too quickly 😦

  3. What an amazing looking residence! Especially queen size beds. I was in a pretty old residence my first year of undergrad – but it certainly added some character and excitement to my first year. But I immediately moved off campus in second year! Haha

    Hope you have fun during all the orientation events!

  4. i love your cute little outfit esp with those sunglasses! the school color of purple is so fun. i wasn’t a fan of my school’s boring white and navy blue pairing. i love that little nook you have set up with the owl!

  5. Your room looks wonderful! Thanks for sharing the advice from the motivational speaker because it is so true. You are off to an amazing start with new friends, memorable experiences and the opportunity to learn so much!

Leave a Reply

