Myrtle Beach: Salt Water

Most people would agree that salt has a bad reputation. Correlations between eating salt and raised blood pressure are very much present. High blood pressure poses a threat for putting a greater strain on one’s heart, arteries, kidneys and brain which can lead to heart attacks, strokes, dementia and kidney disease.45

But is all salt bad? Not in my books! While I don’t add salt into my baking or cooking, sodium isn’t the first item I look at on a nutritional label! I’m not going to get into a debate as to why sea salt may be better than table salt because we are all entitled to our own opinions and the most notable differences are within the taste and texture. The fact of the matter is that swimming in sea salt does have some tremendous benefits for our bodies and since I’m vacationing on the ocean I feel compelled to share some fun facts with you. After all, I have to live up to my “healthy living” blog motto.22

There’s no doubt about it, salt water is cleansing to the skin because it increases moisture retention. By detoxifying your skin, your whole body automatically feels rejuvenated since your skin is the largest organ in your body. Overtime, swimming in salt water can help to treat skin disorders such as eczema and acne.33

Not only will swimming help keep you beautiful on the outside, it will also help in keeping you healthy in the inside. One’s mental state may be renewed from swimming in salt water since it is a way to relieve stress and release endorphins. Salt water contains bromide, which helps reduce the inflammation of joints and muscles, which in turn lessens muscle pains. Salt water also has higher buoyancy so it is easier to float within. Studies have proven that salt water can restore the body’s natural balance, which promotes self-healing and can make you feel and look younger. When you swim in salt water, it stimulates your blood circulation, which is great for your health. Your nervous system benefits from the magnesium present in salt water, as are potassium and sodium. Calcium is also present which we know is great for your bone health.66

In contrast to chlorine, which has the tendency to cause red eyes and itchy skin, salt water is better for your overall comfort. I must admit I’ve really been enjoying the salty water of the ocean. Swallowing a gulp isn’t fun, but my hair is feeling silkier than ever. In Ontario we are blessed with Great Lakes, but you won’t find ocean water anywhere. I’m not used to watching out for jellyfish or sharks but I think I could get used to looking for washed up beach glass, seashells and sand dollars. I can’t wait to go jet skiing later in the week so that we can flag down a fishing boat for fresh shrimp. I brought an underwater camera to document the excursion. I’ll definitely be sharing photos from my trip so far later in the week because I have to many funny stories to contain until I get home. Bye for now! ♥ Molly

“The cure for anything is salt water – sweat, tears, or the sea.”  – Dinesen, Isak 

6 thoughts on “Myrtle Beach: Salt Water

  1. I hope to get my own dose of salt water today at VA Beach! This is a cool post, and I know I always feel good after a day at the beach in the ocean, but I always attribute it to my love of the sun now I can add the ocean water to that list!

  2. Soak in those rays and take many dips in the beautiful ocean! I will be living vicariously through you 🙂 I’m a rarity but I actually add salt to almost everything. I have extremely low blood pressure which makes me pretty susceptible to dizziness and passing out so I add salt to almost everything I eat to help raise it. Kind of strange eh?

    • Aha, my blood pressure is naturally really low as well so I can see your point for sure, I just try to drink a lot of water because salt can make my fingers swell sometimes. No need to change your diet though – salt clearly has it’s benefits. Thanks, you’ll have to hit up Toronto Island for a beach!

Leave a Reply

