Myrtle Beach: Peace and Serenity

It’s almost surreal to walk on an empty beach amidst a cloud of fog. The sound of the waves crashing against each other, the sand between your toes and the blazing sun heating the water so that it is just bearable to touch.

7:00 a.m. Fog

7:00 a.m. Fog

1044509_326937930775325_1775785392_n

We arrived safely, on time, to a newly renovated airport just 20 minutes from our resort. We drove by many attractions including Pirate’s Voyage, Go-Karting, Broadway Beach and the Tanger Outlet Mall all of which I look forward to frequenting later in the week. Yesterday was mostly spent in air, but we did manage to buy some groceries and go for a midnight swim. I’ll never get tired of finding new food products only featured in the States. There are some pretty packaged foods, although I’m not sure I would actually try and of them. I went for a walk on the beach this morning, which is by far one of my favourite forms of exercise. Today is a beautiful sunny day which means that we will most likely be relaxing on the beach and by the pool. The only probable destination is the Tiki Bar – non-alcoholic of course because I am only 20 and the drinking age in the States is different. I found it so surprising to see alcohol in the grocery store yesterday. The prices are also so low in comparison to what I remember from Canada.  1098007_326937960775322_1732407465_n

I haven’t even been in Myrtle Beach for 24 hours and already I have experienced true bliss. We are on a very relaxed schedule, flexible with weather changes or input from others. While I am not on vacation with my own family, I feel just at ease and am equally included in the decision making progress. It’s nice to be given the option as to whether or not I want to do a particular activity or eat at a certain restaurant and for that I am extremely thankful.934732_326937847442000_1684804581_n

I know that I had intended to blog on my vacation, but I am slowly realizing just how needed a break from technology really is. While I plan on documenting my trip through a recap, I am not sure that I will be keeping up with blog updates, e-mails or facebook on a daily basis. We will see, there is definitely enough down time to write, but I also want to make the most of a vacation by just being. Just lounging, just reading, just soaking up the sun free of unnecessary thoughts, worry and guilt. My inner perfectionism hates that posts will not be frequent or scheduled for 5:00 a.m., but I am using this trip as a challenge for myself both mentally and physically. It’s kind of nice to be forced to take a step back from the busy lifestyle I was living and I am so glad that I opted not to get a phone plan for the States.

That is all. I challenge you to find peace and serenity in your “today”. ♥ Molly

The sea does not reward those who are too anxious, too greedy, or too impatient. One should lie empty, open, choiceless as a beach – waiting for a gift from the sea. – Anne Morrow Lindbergh 

4 thoughts on “Myrtle Beach: Peace and Serenity

  1. Yes! take a break girl. The blog will be here when you get back and you will have tons to talk about then. I think this time will be really great for you 😀 Stay comfortable, go with the flow of vacation, and just enjoy yourself vacations like this are precious ❤

Leave a Reply

