Fresh Rolls

Thai food tends to be cooked with spices and nuts, neither of which I can have. Spices upset my stomach and leave my tongue on fire while nuts are an allergy I grew into in fourth grade.

IMG_6193 IMG_6196

Of course the foodie in me doesn’t let Thai-peanut sauce stand in the way of me enjoying this type of cuisine. My dad makes a great homemade Pad Thai sauce and I love preparing Fresh Rolls. I find the crunchiness of the uncooked vegetable rolls much more refreshing than fried Spring Rolls don’t you? Which brings me to today’s post. Don’t hold your breath on a formal recipe because I truly believe Fresh Rolls can be taken in so many directions. While I usually use shrimp as my protein source, my dad prefers chicken and I’ve seen people roll salmon in as well! If I could, I’d probably throw in crushed peanuts or an almond-butter sauce for additional flavour. Since the rice paper never really expires making these rolls is usually a “last minute” decision so I tend to use whichever vegetables I already have on hand. A must-include is definitely Avocado! Regardless of the ingredients you decide to roll up, there is a basic formula for the preparation. I’ve also included an easy sweet and spicy thai-dipping sauce recipe. Sorry the pictures aren’t prettier – These rolls aren’t exactly fast to make (in the volume I needed) and dinner time was fast approaching so I I couldn’t set up a huge photoshoot. I hope you enjoy. Happy Friday! What’s your favourite combination of Fresh Roll? It’s not traditional but lately I’ve been enjoying shrimp, mango, carrots, red pepper and onion! ♥ Molly

“You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces – just good food from fresh ingredients.” – Julia Child

IMG_6214

Fresh RollsIMG_6213

Suggested Ingredients

  • Rice Paper (Circular Wrappers)
  • Fresh Vegetables: Carrots, Red Pepper, Cucumber, Onion, Lettuce
  • Fresh Fruit: Avocado, Mango

Sweet-Thai Dipping Sauce Ingredients

  • ¼ cup soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • ½ tsp chili sauce
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • ½ tsp fresh ginger, diced
  • 2 tsp honey (Optional)
  1. Prepare all of your fillings to your liking. You can choose to slice, dice, sliver, shred, mash or grate the ingredients for inside of your rolls. I chose to use matchstick carrots and I also sliced avocado, mango, red pepper, cucumber and spinach. For protein I used whole mini shrimp and chicken breast slivers. Mint, basil, cilantro, and pre-made (chilled) rice vermicelli are also great fillers.IMG_6190
  2. Fill a large bowl or flan dish with boiling water. Carefully dip one rice paper into the warm water for about 30 seconds or until softened. Lay rice paper flat onto a clean cloth.IMG_6195
  3. In a row across the centre of the rice paper, leaving an inch at the top and bottom, place a combination of “filler” ingredients. Fold in the top and bottom. Fold one uncovered side (left or right) inward and then tightly roll the rice paper. Repeat with the remaining ingredients and rice wrappers.IMG_6201 IMG_6202 IMG_6203 IMG_6204
  4. Prepare dipping sauce by whisking together soy sauce, rice vinegar, apple cider vinegar,  chili sauce, freshly minced garlic clove and diced  ginger. For sweetness, add in up to 2 tsp of honey.
  5. Serve Fresh Rolls with dipping sauce and chopsticks.IMG_6216
7 thoughts on “Fresh Rolls

  1. We made spring rolls for my communicating with food class last spring! They are fun to make! Thai and Asian food is not my favorite but I enjoy it when it’s fresh and fun like this!

    • I agree sometimes I find it to be pretty heavy especially in the summer. Unless it is homemade, asian cuisine usually leaves me hungry again within 30 minutes plus I fear the unknown additives and MSG!

  2. These look delicious! I’ve been wanting to experiment with rice paper, and this is definitely the perfect way to use it! I’ll have to try it very soon 🙂

    • Let me know how you enjoy the rice paper. It does have a subtle yet distinct flavour and I know some people prefer to use the filings in collard wraps (or lettuce bowls).

Leave a Reply

