It’s Okay to Rest

We all deserve to be in a state of bliss, inner peace and contentment. No one should live in a continuous cycle of anxiety. Stress is a demon that sits on your back and only makes you worry.

This week has been a great reminder that it is okay to slow down, as there are a lot of benefits in being still.  There are so many little things that I take for granted because I am not engaged in the movements of every day living. Brushing my teeth, talking to my family, sleeping in new bed sheets and even eating a home cooked meal are activities I subconsciously rush through. What’s not to enjoy about driving through three green lights in a row, finding an unexpected fifty dollar bill in your wallet or even finishing off the last slice of cake that you assumed would be gone by now? I am often searching for the next best thing so I don’t stay present long enough to appreciate scenerios for all that they are worth. Your entire life is simply composed of “right nows”. The best is not in front of you or behind you, it’s within you always in each moment.

IMG_0804 IMG_2382

It has taken me a while to learn the joy of relaxing. I used to get bored if I wasn’t baking, cooking, cleaning or out with friends. Although I still enjoy busyness, I have learned that finding a state of “calm” can be just as fulfilling. I don’t disagree that multi-tasking is important, but I also know that I must be able to set things aside and focus on my own thoughts once and a while. The past few days I’ve turned down offers to go out for lunch or coffee that I’m sure I would have enjoyed, but I spent time finding inner happiness just being with myself.

I achieve a balance through meditation, yoga, journaling, reading and even napping. It’s hard not to feel lazy when I take a day off from the gym, but it’s important for me to trust my body and give it what it needs. If it’s craving sleep, then I’m fine pressing snooze a few extra times. I don’t need a lot of me time in my day, just a half an hour in the bath or twenty minutes of peace and quiet before I fall asleep. Alone time no longer makes me feel lonely, it is simply viewed as time alone.IMG_0134 IMG_6822

So if you find yourself stressed or sad, try to think of all of the little things in your life that you’ve achieved. A simple high five, a letter to a friend, washing the dishes or even making your bed are all accomplishments that you probably disregard. As long as you breathe, eat, sleep and protect your body each day, you are being productive with your time! I challenge you to devote some time to yourself, especially since we are going into the weekend. Whether you choose to use this time to have a shower, get a manicure, write in your journal or even call a friend is up to you; but please, take 60 minutes out of your week, ten minutes each day, for YOU time. ♥ Molly

“To be still means to empty yourself from the incessant flow of thoughts and create a state of consciousness that is open and receptive.” –  John Daido LoriIMG_8504 IMG_1108
12 thoughts on “It’s Okay to Rest

  1. Beautiful post! I love that last quote. I often find it difficult to just “relax”. It’s hard for me to sit still so it’s something I need to actively make time for. When I do I am always happier for it. I always make time to read before bed which definitely helps me unwind at the end of the day. It’s the little things in life that truly bring the greatest joy 🙂

  2. Oh gosh girl, you certainly have a way with words! I really struggle with being still and relaxing for long periods (like the whole weekend I can normally do one day) but I have learned to love a little me time. I used to fear being alone (weird since I am an only child) but now I love a little time to myself where I go get a manicure alone or sit at a restaurant read a book and enjoy a meal all for me. Bubble baths are also my secret love! You make some really great points here I hope many learn from your words!

    • Thank you. My writing is far from perfect since I always have at least one mistake I find later on (when reviewing) but I appreciate you enjoying my writing style. I have a hard time saying no, which means my days are usually crammed pack, but this past week Ive turned down offers and I think I’ve gotten into a better state of mind by acknowledging my thoughts and only doing what I want to do.

  3. This is beautiful Molly. You are such a talented writer. I agree with you 100%. Sometimes we just need to stop, breathe, be mindful and enjoy the present moment not matter what we’re doing. I’m a forward thinker and tend to plan, plan, plan, but this is a good reminder to just “be.”
    Rest is so important, we must listen to our bodies, At first they whisper, but if we don’t respond then they begin to yell. Thanks for your insight 🙂

    • You are so sweet. Thank you! The more we practise mindfulness the easier it becomes. There is also a benefit of having free days incase something unexpected pops up!

  4. it really is so important, yet so hard, to cut ourselves slack and allow ourselves to rest and relax. i not only have hard time taking rest days, but also just being bored in general. i am SO BAD with free time! it’s like i always have to be productive. i remember when i was a kid i used to laze around saturday mornings because i gave myself credit for the “hours i put in” at school monday-friday. now i do more than ever yet i still feel guilty if i laze around on weekends. i’m working on practicing giving myself props for my accomplishments, even the small things. i definitely try to fight every negative thought with a positive one. it takes active reminding and practice but i’m getting there!

    • I think our society praises busyness so it’s normal to be on the go most of the day. You are absolutely right, it’s hard to take rest days even if you see and understand the benefit. I am glad you are learning to take rest days and there is no reason that those days can’t be equally busy, just centred around “you” time!

  5. LOVE this post, and it came at the perfect time for me. I always feel unproductive if I am not exercising, cooking, studying, or helping someone. This is such a great reminder to appreciate everything and just slow down and enjoy life. I also love how you note that you can make every little activity like washing the dishes or brushing your teeth a relaxing moment. Mindrulness is so important, and if we really engage and focus on what we are doing, it can make such a difference.

  6. Such a great post Molly! It is so hard to accept that rest is okay sometimes. Reading this helped remind me that down time is good – and I could use some in the near future!

    xo Lauren

    • I am so glad to hear than Lauren. I’m actually having a relaxed day today and re-reading this post is helping me to accept that watching a movie at 3:00p.m. is acceptable!

Leave a Reply

