It’s a Boy!

Usually I am the last to find out about celebrity gossip! I was three days late in finding out Kim Kardashian had her baby and to this day I still get confused as to what direction the baby girl was named after (No offence)! I began and ended reading tabloid magazines in grade 7 and while I try to use Twitter and Facebook, I am not very good at keeping up with the most current news.

Of course a Royal Baby is a bit different! Our community library began celebrating the pregnancy of the Duchess of Cambridge long before she was said to be due. I thought it was cute that they created a contest for kids to vote whether they thought it would be a girl or boy. They asked the children to write down the name he or she thought the royal baby would be given. “Princess Jasmine” “Cinderella” and “Princess Aurora” were definitely the most common if the child thought the baby was going to be a girl. The library also filled a table with newspaper articles about Kate and William, baby name books and books about Canadian history since Canada is part of the British Commonwealth.

Royal Baby 1 Royal Baby 2

Canada had pre-planned to celebrate the birth of the baby by illuminating landmarks in the colour of the baby’s gender. The Peace Tower up on Parliament Hill in Ottawa, Toronto’s CN Tower and the Niagara Falls were all lit blue last night. Before hand, a hospital in Oshawa Ontario even proposed that Kate should have her baby there, since she would have more privacy because everyone expected her to give birth in London, England. That would have been cool as Oshawa is only an hour away from where I live!

I think it’s pretty neat that my sister Caitlin and her husband Aaron got married the same year as Kate and William but it’s even more of a coincidence that my niece Lottie, their baby, was born exactly 5 months before the royal baby boy was delivered. Caitlin announced that Lottie doesn’t mind dating a boy a bit younger. I think I could get used to being a distant member of a royal family. She is already loving fancy dresses and I love tea parties!

1069859_10100531811058981_1959849486_n Lottie 1

So while there won’t be a Queen to inherit the crown quite yet , I think everyone was equally pleased when Kate Middleton delivered her healthy baby boy at 4:24p.m. Monday July 22nd. While we know his weight, 8lbs 6oz, we have yet to find out his name. What do you think it will be? Prince Charming? Congratulations again to the Duchess of Cambridge and Prince William on one of their best moments in life. I have tremendous faith that they will make excellent parents and may this little parcel of joy bring with him prosperity, happiness and bliss. ♥ Molly

“We may not be able to prepare the future for our children, but we can at least prepare our children for the future.” – Franklin D. Roosevelt

3 thoughts on “It’s a Boy!

  1. lottie is precious! every little girl needs a ruffly one piece bathing suit. she is ready for a tea party! i am not big into this royal baby thing but i find it hilarious that chain restaurants like pizza hut are offering royal baby “specials” and other brands are doing tweets about it and following along. i’m a marketing nerd so i tend to relate everything back to that.

    • Aha I couldn’t agree more. Sometimes I wonder why we celebrate the birth of a “royal” baby but tens of thousands of babies were born on the same day that went unnoticed. Some people get so silly when it comes to the fame of celebrities and honestly sometimes I feel badly that the celebrities will never get to enjoy a life without paparazzi, criticisms, or even fame again! I can’t imagine trying to find a boyfriend if I were a celebrity because I wouldn’t know if people were after my money or if they really truly liked me!

Leave a Reply

