Happy National Ice Cream Day!

IMG_5802

Happy National Ice Cream Day! You didn’t think I would forget did you? On Thursday I listed 20 fun facts about myself, and let you know that onions are my favourite food. What I failed to mention was that Ice Cream is making its way up the totem pole.You can’t buy happiness but you can buy ice cream… and that’s kind of the same thing. The pictures in today’s post are just some of the cones I consumed this July… I have a slight addiction but it’s calcium right?

In 1984, President Ronal Reagan designated July as National Ice Cream Month and the third Sunday of the month as National Ice Cream Day. He recognized ice cream as a fun and nutritious food that is enjoyed by a full 90 percent of the nation’s population. In the proclamation, President Reagan called for all people of the United States to observe these events with “appropriate ceremonies and activities.” (Source)

photo-98Ice cream used to be something I feared and ate only on special occasions. Well that thought went out the window because it is now something I consume on an almost daily basis. I’d like to blame the heat for this recent addiction, but I have a feeling come December, it’ll remain a staple in my diet. There’s no telling when I’ll become sick of it!

photo-101The combinations of flavours are endless, not to mention mix-ins, sauces and toppings. I consider frozen yogurt to be a form of ice cream, so my favourite flavours are cappuccino, tart, mango and lime. When I am having real ice cream, I typically have soft-serve so a “twist” of chocolate and vanilla is my go-to. In terms of “harder” ice cream flavours, I enjoy cookie dough or mint chocolate. When I was little I chose ice cream based on the “colour” so I often left with bubble gum, cotton candy or rainbow sorbet since they were all pink! Of course back then I wasn’t allergic to nuts so I could also have peanut butter chocolate. Yum!photo-100

My usual mix ins are fresh fruit and I prefer strawberry slices or mango chunks. I really like lychee popping balls as well. They are these little balls that have a soft outer shell and upon applying pressure with your tongue, they squirt out flavourful juice into your mouth. On occasion I add in sprinkles,  cookie dough or strawberry sauce.photo-102

I had hoped to create an ice cream recipe to share on the blog but I haven’t yet perfected one. This being said I’ve been pinning recipes on Pinterest all week long, so I’ll leave you with some that caught my eye. Of course,  you can always try my  Banana Soft Serve as well!

Want to know some more facts about ice cream’s history and it is made? Be sure to check out this website! ♥ Molly

“Ice-cream is exquisite – what a pity it isn’t illegal.” – Voltaire

“Life is like ice cream, enjoy it before it melts.” 

10 thoughts on “Happy National Ice Cream Day!

  1. You are so adorable! I’m glad you now allow yourself to enjoy ice cream; you deserve its deliciousness!

  2. Love this! I have been enjoying ice cream this summer too for the first time in quite some time. It has a great calcium profile 😉 I love strawberry and hard ice cream is my favorite. We have the home of the waffle cone in my town so I need to go there ASAP. Summer is when most people like ice cream, but I like it in the middle of winter because it melts slower which means it lasts longer!

    • You are absolutely right. I enjoy the actual cone, but sometimes the ice cream drips through which is a bit annoying. That’s so neat, waffle cones always smell so good when they are being made.

Leave a Reply

