It’s My Birthday!

Today I enter a new decade as I celebrate my twentieth birthday. While I still have most of my life ahead of me, I can’t help but feel “old” when I hear my new age. Unlike 16 (Driving Permit), 18 (Lottery Tickets), 19 (Canadian Drinking Age) or 21 (American Drinking Age), the number 20 isn’t rewarded with an added privilege, but to me, it is still equally important. I am so thankful for everyone who has helped me achieve great health, happiness and memorable moments in the years leading up to this milestone.

IMG_0325

Celebrating my 19th Birthday

IMG_3982I would also like to wish my parents a very happy belated 31st wedding anniversary, as yesterday marked the day of their 31st year being married. If it weren’t for you Mom and Dad, I don’t know where I would be today. May every new tomorrow draw you closer to each other and may it keep the promise of today. You are the perfect example of what parents should be and how a married couple should act. Wishing you wonderful years filled with tremendous happiness and great health, in the years to come. You have me setting high expectations for my future husband Dad, and Mom you have me hoping that I can be as positive of a role model for my daughter(s) as you were for me.

309008_999118087991_630881735_nI have a busy day ahead of me, but before I go, I’d like to leave you with 20 fun facts, you might not already know about me! What are some birthday traditions your family participates in? When I was little, my parents would wrap money in coins, and hide it underneath everyone’s “slice” at my birthday party, that way everyone got an extra surprise. ♥ Molly

“God gave us the gift of life; it is up to us to give ourselves the gift of living well.” – Voltaire

Birthday

0. The day I was born 2. My second birthday 5. My “Arthur” themed 5th birthday party 6. My “Olympic” waterworks obstacle birthday party 17. We went to see the Legally Blonde musical on my 17th birthday 19. Last year we were in France so my dad and I went to the Catacombs the morning of my birthday

Twenty Interesting and Slightly Embarrassing Facts about Myself!

  1. I can do my splits. At the age of three my parents signed me up for ballet, but in all honesty, I would run around the room instead of skipping or stretching. Regardless, I fell in love and began competing when I was 7. I’ve done Ballet, Pointe, Jazz, Lyrical, Hip Hop and more, but my favourite (and strongest suit) will always be Tap.
  2. I love my name because of it’s “ring” and truthfully, it suits me perfectly. Molly Martha Schoo (pronounced shoe). People call me “Molly Pocket” because I am just barely 5’3” and I look about 14-16, but nicknames have ranged from Molly Moo to Schooster.
  3. When I was little I thought “Tim Hortons” was “Tim Portons” and I called Figure Skaters, “Finger Skaters”. My parents preserved this innocence for a bit too long!
  4. I’ve been on national television. This year I was part of a “Bell Let’s Talk Campaign” advocating for Mental Health, so I was featured on a Marilyn Dennis (Canadian Talk Show) Special!
  5. I’m a dare devil and I love adventure. Skydiving, Bungee Jumping, Surfing (In Hawaii!!), Climbing a Mountain and White Water rafting are all on my “to-do” list.
  6. As a kid, I always wanted to experience living with braces, glasses and a cast. While I’ve had braces, and continue to wear glasses (or contacts) on a daily basis, I’ve never broken (nor do I want to) a bone in my life.
  7. I went through French Immersion beginning in Senior Kindergarden, so as a result I am bilingual. I hope to become fluent in a third language such as Dutch.
  8. You’ll hardly ever find me in pants or shorts. Skirts and Dresses are staples in my wardrobe (I have more than 50 everyday dresses). I admire people that can look cute in sweatpants, but I don’t think I’ll ever be someone that can feel “put together” in a tracksuit.
  9. I’d pick cardio over weight training any day. A goal of mine is to run a full marathon but I have a ways to go with my running abilities. Swimming or Zumba are my go to exercises.
  10. My taste buds are well rounded. I like vegetables and fruit equally, I enjoy “sweet” desserts but also enjoy “salty” snacks, I value protein but still love carbohydrates, and I have no preference between butter or applesauce in my baked goods!
  11. My favourite movie is Legally Blonde, I continue to watch re-runs of Gilmore Girls and the song “Just Give me a Reason” never gets old. Miss Congeniality, Everwood and Ho Hey are all close runner ups!
  12. In grade 8 I had a shirt that said “I got an A+ in Talking”. I can be pretty loud as my voice carries almost TOO well. It comes in handy when presenting or debating, but it’s also one my biggest challenges in classroom settings (Particularly meditation and yoga classes).
  13. I’d eat onions like apples if it didn’t make me cry. I find every excuse to put onions in a recipe.
  14. I collect postcards. In grade 3 I bought a package of “Hello Kitty” postcards from my school’s book sale, and ever since I’ve enjoyed picking them up when I travel. Feel free to send me one from your hometown or vacation!
  15.  I’d rather go grocery shopping than clothes shopping. Fashion interests me and I enjoy pretty attire, however I am not good at spending money nor am I eager to try things on.
  16. I swallowed a penny when I was a baby! The doctors thought I had asthma but my parents later found the evidence in my diaper!
  17. I’m a games person and as much as I try to play for the fun of it, I can get pretty competitive. I’ll play just about anything, but to name a few Apples to Apples, Scattegories, Risk, Catch Phrase, Cards and Scrabble are some of my favourites.
  18. I’ve always wanted to be a twin. I have three incredible siblings (I am the youngest) all of whom I am close with, but having a relative my own age would be convenient in a lot of circumstances.
  19. If money weren’t necessary, I’d volunteer my time instead of working. I hope to find a career than enables me to give back to my community by helping others. To me, one of the greatest gifts in life is seeing the results of my generosity. Acts of kindness are so little and can have such positive effects.
  20. I love quotes. They can be so inspiring and finding the perfect one to counteract a negative thought is extremely rewarding. Some of my favourites were first spoken or written by Helen Keller, Shakespeare, Julia Childs, Dalai Lama, Albert Einstein and of course Audrey Hepburn! Here’s another applicable one for today! “The more you praise and celebrate your life, the more there is in life to celebrate.” – Oprah Winfrey
10 thoughts on “It’s My Birthday!

  1. Happy birthday my dear! Enjoy your day; you deserve it!!! I love your twenty fun facts. One of my goals is to run a full marathon too. Maybe we can do one together!

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! so glad we have recently connected! i love reading these facts about you. so much to say in response to them! i honestly am surprised to read you’re a daredevil. you seem reserved and quiet (not in a bad way!) – meanwhile i’m the opposite of a daredevil. i will never ever skydive, bungee dump, etc. i still remember the only time i ever went off a high dive…petrified!
    i never even started liking ‘just give me a reason’ or ‘ho hey’, ha! but gilmore girls and everwood, such classics. i miss both terribly. i hated how everwood ended on an unsatisfying note! legally blonde was my first pg-13 movie i saw in theaters, and i adored it as well. still one of my all-time faves.
    i used to want to wear glasses too! when i asked for them in 5th grade my mom knew i wanted them and thought i was faking it. i really couldn’t see though, ha! thankfully she took me to the eye doctor and that was discovered quickly. i never wanted braces and didn’t enjoy having them. i broke my arm when i was a toddler and i don’t remember it but i have been told i was super miserable so i don’t care to relive it!
    i always wanted to be a twin too. i used to love wearing matching outfits with my sister.
    i always say that if money were no object, i’d go back to school. there is so much to learn out there! if i ever win the lottery i would first go back to school for a degree in nutrition.

    • You’d be surprised. I am reserved and I like my own space (Bedroom, When Studying, Anything to do with Academics) but I am also equally outgoing. I’m never to shy to ask a stranger for directions!

      Good for you for loving school. I truly believe we are all always going to be students because there is so much to learn. I am studying Nutrition and Psych so if you ever have any questions!!

      Aha yeah, glasses aren’t quite as “fun” as I imagined.

  3. Happy birthday for a third time 😀 hehe I always thought it would be cool to be a twin too…I also thought it would be cool to have an older brother for some reason. LOL at number 16, I stuck a park stone in my ear when I was three…I wasn’t as lucky as you though, I ended up having to get surgery (but all after slightly damaging my eardrum because I never told my parents until I had blood coming out of my ear…TMI). I didn’t know the onion fact, interesting. I do love a good base of garlic and onions for any sautee though!

    • Thanks Chelsea. I really appreciate you taking the time to wish me a happy birthday on 3 occasions. Aha yup nobody except me really likes onions so I always eat them as a side.

Leave a Reply

