Fourth of July Celebration Snacks

Happy Fourth of July! Provided I can do math (2013 minus 1776), 237 years ago today, the United States declared independence from the Kingdom of Great Britain. While I haven’t visited every state, I have enjoyed visiting New York (NYC and Buffalo) on multiple occasions, California (L.A and SanFrancisco), Maine (Freeport) and Florida (Orlando). I am also going to be exploring South Carolina later this summer! I am headed to Myrtle Beach with a friend and her family, any good recommendations?

IMG_2304 IMG_1696

(Throwback Thursday to NYC 2010, Overlooking Central Park and The Busyness of Time Square)

Since I am Canadian and celebrated July 1st earlier this week, I’ve have already had my fair share of themed attire, BBQs and of course fireworks. This being said, I don’t think I can ever get sick of “party food”.

IMG_5755

Summertime gatherings tend to be filled with beverages and munchies, so in hopes of keeping my snacks on the healthier side, I came up with a new recipe. I absolutely love Guacamole, but Avocados can add up in price. To cut costs and please my dad’s taste buds (can you believe he doesn’t like Avocados?) I decided to substitute in green peas.

IMG_5751

Green Pea GuacamoleIMG_5756

Makes approximately 2 cups

  • 3 cups frozen green peas, completely thawed
  • ½ cup Vidalia or green onion, chopped
  • ½ cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 2 garlic gloves, sliced
  • 1 tsp. lime zest
  • 3 tbsp. lime juice (Approximately 1 limes)
  • 1 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • ¼ tsp. cayenne pepper
  1. Set aside 1 tbsp. fresh cilantro for garnish
  2. Place all ingredients into a food processor, and pulse until smooth or desired consistency. Approximately 3 minutes.
  3. Refrigerate for half an hour, allowing flavors to blend.
  4. Serve alongside crackers, nacho chips, or crunchy crudités such as snap peas, carrots or cucumber. Garnish with remaining cilantro, a slice or lime or extra cayenne pepper.

Disclaimer: While this dip is rich in flavor, it isn’t quite as creamy as your typical guacamole since it contains very little healthy fat. One “switch up” you might want to make, is cutting down on the peas by 1/2 cup, and adding in 1 avocado that is peeled, pitted and chopped. Also, you can hardly taste the cilantro so don’t despair if it isn’t your favourite flavour. My sister doesn’t like cilantro but agreed it was needed in this recipe.

IMG_5765 IMG_5767

(Sorry about that piece of cilantro on my mini latte bowl, it kind of ruins the picture. I don’t know how I didn’t notice it when taking the photos! And yes, I have two sizes of the same coloured bowl. I didn’t eat it ALL in one helping – I only came close!)

It’s affordable, it’s easy (especially since you don’t have to finely chop the ingredients before pulsing them) it’s tasty and it’s healthy! I hope you enjoy it as much as my family did. I decided to mix in some red onion and tomato after it had been pureed, to add a bit more texture. They were great additions, as I am in love with onions of any kind. Maybe this recipe can be something you bring to a future gathering when you are asked to bring an appetizer?? I know I wouldn’t hesitate to bring it to a girls night!

Happy Independence Day Americans! Did you notice I omitted the “u” in flavour out of respect for your spelling? ♥ Molly

“This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave.”  – Elmer Davis

2 thoughts on “Fourth of July Celebration Snacks

Leave a Reply

