Molly Smiles

While you might know a bit about “The Happiness Recipe”, I haven’t really given you much history on me. My name is Molly and my middle name is my mom’s name,  Martha. Over the years though I have gained many nicknames and am used to responding to almost anything. Perhaps it is because I have a big personality, a good sense of humour, am quirky and am fairly small in height. Here are just a few: Molly Mouse, Molly Moo, Molly Dolly, Molly Pocket, Molly Moushka, Molls, and so on.

Emma is proudly holding me!

Emma is proudly holding me!

I was quite the ham!

Emma and I! I was quite the ham!

I still have similar style. I love bows, dresses and headbands!

I still have similar style. I love bows, dresses and headbands! (I am second from the left).

I grew up in a small community called Peterborough, Ontario. As the youngest of four, I followed in the footsteps of my siblings attending French Immersion. I started my dancing career at the age of three, learned how to play the violin and made true friends as there were only 8 of us in my class. Soon after I celebrated my 10th birthday, my family and I moved to Oakville, Ontario.

Fast forward ten years, and here I am today.  Attending the University of Western Ontario at Brescia College, in pursuit of becoming a Dietitian. No wait, Neurosurgeon or maybe even a Psychiatrist? I am not quite sure so for now I am focusing on completing an Honours Specialization in Food and Nutrition with a Major in Psychology. Brescia is my home away from home as the professors really take the time to get to know you. I participated in a Speech Competition focusing on a Female Leader and as a result, have attended many luncheons with the Principal and fellow contestants. I really feel part of the community and it offers so many engaging volunteer opportunities which enables me gain experience in the profession of my choice. Brescia is sort of like a sorority (without the drama that is) since it is an all girls residence (Boys can attend classes on Brescia, but they would either be a Kings, Huron or Main Campus student).  Brescia  reminds me a bit of my roots (Peterborough), as the class sizes are quite small. In contrast to the 500 faces I meet in my Chemistry course on Main Campus, I am able to really get to know the 80 or so students in my close knit dietetic stream.

Grand Central Terminal, NYC!

Grand Central Terminal, NYC!

Fao Schwarz in NYC!

Prom 2011!

IMG_3209

Fall, Thanksgiving!

South of France, Summer 2012!

South of France, Summer 2012!

Halloween, DYI Costume, 2012!

392992_221468194655633_1763164685_n

Al Gore, Me to We, 2012!

IMG_3771

Christmas, 2012!

521706_245843908884728_962264435_n

Speaking alongside Clara Hughes! March 2013!

935182_283139701821815_354859896_n

May, 2013!

The things I value most in life are simple gestures. I love it when someone politely shakes my hand, holds a door, asks how my day is going or does a random act of kindness. I enjoy conversing over coffee with friends, shopping (Especially for groceries), crafting, reading and of course blogging. If I had enough people to feed, I would spend my days in the kitchen baking and cooking. Bike rides, swimming, running, dancing, yoga posing and even walking are the ways in which I stay fit. Some days I wish money wasn’t an important factor in traveling, as I aspire to visit Hawaii, Australia and British Columbia in the near future. To date, my favourite place in the world is Amsterdam; my Nana and Grandpa’s birthplace. While I like to keep busy, I can’t deny that I have days where I sleep in. Dinner is my favourite meal as it is one that is always spent with my family. I wish every day was “Games” day as I am fairly competitive and love playing Cards, Scrabble, Apples to Apples, Catch Phrase and Ellen DeGenere’s iPhone application, “Heads Up”. I’m definitely not afraid of making a fool out of myself (In a good way of course), I go out of my way to help others and am a great talker (I once had a shirt that said “I got an A+ in Talking”).

I believe the best things in life are homemade. I believe smiling makes me happier. I believe tea parties aren’t old fashion and I believe flowers bloom from their roots. I believe wearing dresses makes me feel pretty. I believe life is about creating experiences and I believe in celebrating each accomplishment. I believe crafts aren’t just for kids. I believe that meal time brings a family together. I also believe that there is a recipe for happiness that is waiting to be cooked in each of our lives.

Want to know more about me? Send an e-mail to thehappinessrecipe@hotmail.com, follow me through Instagram (mollyschoo or thehappinessrecipe), read my Tweets (mollyschoo) and keep subscribing to this blog! ♥ Molly

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” – Marianne Williamson 

3 thoughts on “Molly Smiles

Leave a Reply

