Summer Salads

Salads are my go to item at a restaurant, especially during the summer. Typically you can substitute toppings (If I am doing this, I normally am exchanging cheese or nuts) to customize the flavour to your liking. Salads aren’t too heavy but still pack in a lot of nutrients through added toppings.

Artisano: Baby Spinach and Arugula (No dressing and beets instead of pecans)

photo-21

Panera Bread: Half Barbecue Chopped Salad and Half Spinach Power Salad

photo-24

image-1

Whole Foods: Salad Bar

photo-25

 Garlic’s in London: Raw Root Salad

photo-23

If I weren’t allergic to nuts, my salads would definitely contain some slivered almonds, toasted pecans and candied walnuts. No fear though, I am a huge fan of chickpeas, endamame, beans, chicken, fish and of course tofu so I still manage to get some healthy fats and added protein.

photo-30

photo-28

photo-32

I tend to browse through all of the salads offered at a restaurant, to spark some ideas of my own. To make a salad, all you have to do is start with a big bowl of your favourite leafy greens (Sometimes I omit the greens and instead start with a grain such as quinoa or couscous), and toss in a rainbow of colour. From Mango Salad to Crab Salad, Strawberry Spinach Salads to Lentil Salad, the options are limitless. Some are served without dressing but if I am in need of a drizzle, this is my go to vinaigrette recipe:

Maple Mustard Vinaigrette

  • 1 tsp. Dijon Mustard (The Seasoning)
  • 2 tsp. Lemon Juice (The Juice)
  • 1 tsp. Maple Syrup (Sweetness)
  • 1 tbsp. Balsamic Vinegar (The Vinegar)
  • 2 tbsp. Olive Oil (The Oil)
  • 1 pinch Ground Black Pepper (The Seasoning)

Note: I typically mix these ingredients in the order they are listed. I tend to leave the pepper for last, incase the dressing is already extremely flavourful. Using a small whisk, encourage the oil and vinegar to come together however they don’t mix, so they will separate. For this reason, I always re-stir right before tossing the salad.  

photo-36

This will be plenty for a family sized salad (Six generous helpings). I typically use this over my kale salads, to add a bit of sweetness in contrast to the raw toppings; peas, onions, tomatoes and mushrooms. It’s a perfect side to compliment a protein of choice.

Vinaigrettes are the easiest dressings to make and in my opinion, they enhance the ingredients already present within the salad. What is your favourite salad combination? ♥ Molly

“Freshens without enfeebling and fortifies without irritating.” –  Jean Anthelme Brillat- Savarin

Please note, all of these photos were self-taken. They were edited using an application created by Elsie and Emma

3 thoughts on “Summer Salads

Leave a Reply

